Setting myself up for a life of tying

Anything to do with flies and fly tying
JoelH

Setting myself up for a life of tying

Post by JoelH » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:14 am

Hi all,

I am new to tying flies and wanted to start by getting some gear. What vice are you recommending? I know you can have clamps, or on bases, ones that rotate and those that don't etc...what are the recommendations for a vice that I should be happy with over a lifetime without feeling the need to get anything else. It would be for nymphs and dries mostly. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Jaapie

Re: Setting myself up for a life of tying

Post by Jaapie » Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:51 am

Hey Joel,

Mate, I started off with a crappy Indian copy of a vice I used for years......honestly........years. (27+)

I just wish I knew then what I knew now.
Get the best vice you can afford - or even hold off until you can get a top of the line vice.

I held off upgrading, but after tying on good quality, rotating vices with some of the bells and whistles, I wondered why the hell I hadn't done this ages ago. It really does make a huge difference.
There are plenty of very good makes and models around - you just have to narrow it down to suit what you are looking for.
Just from a personal perspective, get the best quality jaws you can too, even if it means upgrading the jaws separately.

FWIW - I went down the J-Vice route.
Super happy, but it is very expensive compared to some of the other makes around that do exactly the same things.
If you're only tying occasionally, you need to consider this outlay.

Good luck mate - it's an addictive hobby.

Dave

Post by Dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:35 am

Hi Joel